Have you ever had one of those weeks when you feel like:



The house is a disaster, there is somewhere to be every hour of the day, the kids have realized they only have 7 weeks of school left and prematurely begin their shift back into the Wild Things…oh and you’re buying a house…and this is what you want to do:


Yeah? Me too.

But, I survived and here I am! Back to catch up with my challenge and super encouraged by all the love of the readers! Thank you!  The show must go on!









Theme: My Favorite Stories in Haiku

G is for The Giver

Lois Lowry spins one of the most beloved tales of a futuristic society. The Giver is the first book in a quartet that imagines what the world could be like if we allowed ourselves to restructure society and eliminate the things that we thought had corrupted us. Jonas grows up in one of these new cultures, one in which science and reason have become the ultimate guides to “safe” living. But someone has to hold on to the past so that it is not completely forgotten. This “burden” lies with the Giver. So as Jonas begins his apprenticeship to become the next Giver, he begins to realize that the absence of love, dreams, color and emotion is less a solution than heavy chains.

Shades of memories.

Hope is born in vivid red.

Death…is colorless.

H is for Harry Potter

Yes, it’s Harry Potter. I’m with the millions who love it. This series is fun and exciting for people of all ages.  Not only that, but it makes a person want to read! It is the classic fantasy about good vs. evil, a young boy on a quest to save the world, the bonds of love, and of course, magic! J.K. Rowling invents a world that will go down in the history books next to Middle Earth.

Some of you may be saying, “What?! Harry Potter isn’t going to be a literary classic !!!”  But I would beg to differ. Some of the very things that make a story a literary classic are true about the Harry Potter series. Only a few of which are that the stories are loved around the world, the plot throughout is intricate and well woven. The characters are well developed and diverse. Another thing that I find interesting about this series is the writing style. The books begin when Harry is 11 and end when he is 17. Throughout the course of the novels Rowling’s style and voice within the narrative represent the age of her characters, which in turn means that the books seem to age with readers as well!!! Although, to be frank, I’m not sure anyone who has read them has been able to wait that long between books…except maybe those of us who started reading before the series was completed.

He’s the boy who lived.

Marked with love and for greatness.

Finds his family.


2 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge:…..

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s